Podcasts: The Skull

Before I started listening to a podcast, I didn’t think I would like this type of digital medium that much. I am a very visual person and I like to have something to watch or look at while listening to a story. If I am not given a visual I often find my eyes wandering and realize I have missed the last few sentences because the picture on the wall reminded me of my plans to go to the beach that afternoon. Surprisingly, I found the podcast I listened to tonight very entertaining and easy to pay attention to. The podcast told the story of a not-quite-human skull that was found in the 1920s. The discovery of this skull changed what is known today about how humans began. It also provided information about what types of animals were our predators in the beginning. The story was presented as a sort of mystery which got me intrigued right from the beginning. Throughout the story there was suspenseful music and sound effects that drew me in even more. I think it also helped that there were multiple voices telling the story, making it almost like a conversation. In my opinion, the music, the sound effects, and the different voices really enhanced this podcast and the story it told. The story definitely would have still been interesting without these aspects, but it would have been lacking something.

Link: http://www.radiolab.org/story/taung-child/

Leave a Reply

