Twitter: BeyondBreathing

I have never used Twitter before so I was not really sure where to start with this assignment. After a while of exploring and looking up random hash tags and not finding anything that interested me, I decided to look up Cystic Fibrosis. My cousin has CF so it is a topic that is very near and dear to me and I thought it would be interesting to look at a Twitter dedicated to the story of someone’s life with CF. I found Margarete Cassalina, who has two children with CF. Her Twitter is full of inspirational/motivational quotes mixed with information about living with CF. Twitter is still a bit confusing to me, but after reading through Margarete’s tweets I can see how stories can be told through Twitter. I find that the length of tweets and the way they are usually written makes it difficult to develop a story, but the way that quotes were used in the Twitter I looked at enabled me to see into what her attitude and story about CF is. Through the quotes chosen I got the feeling that Margarete is very dedicated to her children and to CF awareness. She seems very motivated and her story seems to be a very hopeful one. I did enjoy reading through Margarete’s Twitter, but in my opinion, Twitter is not the most effective digital medium for storytelling, and after this assignment I am not inspired to use Twitter myself.

Link: https://twitter.com/BeyondBreathing

Leave a Reply

